+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Max Camera distance

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1

    Max Camera distance

    Can someone please tell me a addon that will allow me to zoom out of my UI as far as I want? Max camera distance or setscript dont seem to be working. Any suggestions or help is greatly appreciated.

    AJAX

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,762
    I too have the strong suspicion that either the maxdistance variable hax has stopped working or one of my addons has started interfering with it.
    Need halp

    SIMON DE MONTFORT, EARL OF LEICESTER
    pioneer of representative government who was
    killed in the Battle of Evesham on 4 August 1265.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Williamsburg, VA
    Posts
    719
    /console cameradistancemaxfactor 4 still works for me.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    2,614
    "In anything, if you want to go from just a beginner to a pro, you need a montage." /w TankSpot WTB Montage for Raiders.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    134
    UI Scale affects camera zoom in a way I have mine set to 0.75 and the camera zoom is decent.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    2,614
    Quote Originally Posted by Zaitochi View Post
    UI Scale affects camera zoom in a way I have mine set to 0.75 and the camera zoom is decent.
    This is not true.

    UI scaling only applies to UIParent. That is precisely how UI scaling function, by scaling down the parent element to all UI elements, it scales down all of its child elements. The WorldFrame is not altered by UI scaling nor is the camera.

    WorldFrame (the 3d game world rendered from the perspective of your camera) and UIParent (the UI elements) are the two regions which are parents to all other regions in the World of Warcraft API.
    "In anything, if you want to go from just a beginner to a pro, you need a montage." /w TankSpot WTB Montage for Raiders.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    136
    I use /console cameradistancemaxfactor 3, but whenever I enter a vehicle (such as getting picked up in magmaw's mouth) it resets my camera distance to the regular max distance. Anyone know how to change this behavior or how to make a macro to just instantly reset my camera. I could simply macro /console cameradistancemaxfactor 3 and then try to zoom back out, but I have the mouse scroll bound to abilities and my camera zoom out bind isn't readily available to spam for a few seconds in the middle of a fight.
    Last edited by Eetabeetay; 02-17-2011 at 04:46 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    2,067
    add this to your config.wtf file in your wtf folder:

    SET cameraDistanceMaxFactor setting

    mine hasn't changed unless i change ui's or clear my wtf folder....
    -Jimmy

    |Ex Tank|

    TWITCH.TV STREAM


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    2,614
    Quote Originally Posted by Eetabeetay View Post
    I use /console cameradistancemaxfactor 3, but whenever I enter a vehicle (such as getting picked up in magmaw's mouth) it resets my camera distance to the regular max distance. Anyone know how to change this or how to make a macro to just instantly reset my camera. I could simply macro /console cameradistancemaxfactor 3 and then try to zoom back out, but I have the mouse scroll bound to abilities and my camera zoom out bind isn't readily available to spam for a few seconds in the middle of a fight.
    You can also save camera angles.

    http://www.wowwiki.com/API_SaveView
    http://www.wowwiki.com/API_SetView

    I believe there are default keybinds for these but can't remember what they are off the top of my head. However, saving a view will not save your cameraMaxDistance and cameraMaxDistanceFactor variables. Ultimately those control your maximum zoom and those have to be set. Assuming those are unchanged, you can use saved views.
    "In anything, if you want to go from just a beginner to a pro, you need a montage." /w TankSpot WTB Montage for Raiders.

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts