+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Paladin heroic tanking.

Paladin heroic tanking.

Hello,

Just came back and did a ton of normal runs to get all of my gear over 333 anyways, I am having a really difficult time as a paladin tank with some things.

Aoe seems really difficult. I run in with avengers, consecrate, judgement, shield of the righteous spam. Am i doing it right. 1. im out of mana, 2. in heroics i can't seem to pull without breaking cc or i go in and i only hit maybe 2 out of the 4 mobs with shield of the righteous.

my pulls are terrible on aoe pulls which is like 90% of the trash. Boss fights i dont have a problem with but everything else has been really rough.

heroic lfd is painful and i'd like to at least be the best i can.

An Armory Link and specific examples would help.
    Also are you using CC? CC is extremely important for Heroics, especially when you first start doing them.

I am not an expert in paladin tanking, but I have been tanking a lot lately and can maybe give some advice.

Consecration is expensive. If you're running out of mana try not to use it for small groups. Holy Wrath is some good group AoE and costs a lot less.

As for breaking CC, Hammer of the Righeous (our AoE equivalent to Crusader Strike, which I'm assuming you meant) is an 8yd AoE and will not care about CC. You need to pull and tank away from any CC, which usually means having the CC start the pull (hunter trap, sheep, etc). Avenger's Shield WILL avoid CC targets, so once they're in place you can use it to hit the remaining targets as they come back to you. Then do what you said: HotR alternating with Judgement (to keep mana up), Holy Wrath, and Avenger's Shield.

Also I dunno if you do this, but marking targets for First Kill, Second Kill, etc and telling the DPS what they mean also helps keep the secondary targets on you and not the DPS. If they don't follow those marks I say let them die: it's the only way they'll learn

Re: Paladin heroic tanking.