+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: so I'm a lvl 15 Warrior, I Q'd as TANK, my LFG is ready, I run into my first mob...

so I'm a lvl 15 Warrior, I Q'd as TANK, my LFG is ready, I run into my first mob...

what do I do?

I've read countless articles about tanking. they all appear to be for 60s-80s.

I'm not a new to wow, but I am new to tanking. All those days I just hung on the back topping up health as a resto druid I wish I'd paid more attention.

I considered learning to tank with my druid, but having no gear, and everyone at 80 expects you to be an expert, as soon as the instance starts.

So reading some of the articles there were numerous recommendations to level up as a tank, to learn the craft. I figured what the heck, cata's out, I want a worgen, I want a warrior, lets roll...

erm, how do I do it?

if anyone can point me to a good lowbie article it'd be appreciated. I need to know what I'm trying to achieve and how to do it with the limited toolset you get as you start.

thanks,
    your friendly newbie worgen.

howl

Well, at lower levels there's really not much of a toolbox yet. At level 15 you have what, Heroic Strike, Thunder Clap and Shield Slam?

Shield Slam is pretty much your bread and butter, it's very powerful single target threat and damage. Thunder Clap is good for a little bit of threat on groups, but you'll be struggling with larger groups for a while at those levels. The tools just aren't there yet. You're basically just using Shield Slam on cooldown and Heroic Strike when you have the rage. Thunder Clap to help with groups or for the debuff on bosses.

At 18 you'll get Sunder Armor which makes it a little easier to spread threat around multiple mobs or build quick threat on a single mob. Until then you're basically at the mercy of the Shield Slam cooldown and your damage output.

so I'm a lvl 15 Warrior, I Q'd as TANK, my LFG is ready, I run into my first mob...