+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40

Thread: warrior tanking macro's

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    396

    warrior tanking macro's

    Just curios, are there any good tanking macros for warriors? I personally macro RS to every melee strike i have on my dk, and maul macroed to swipe, mangle and lacerate (with un-macroed version readily available to use as well). Currently at this writing i'm lvl 34 and well honestly there is a ton of stuff to keep track of.

    Also for my rage dump (well at later lvls) HS on single target and cleave on mobs?

    Any other tips for a beginner warrior would be helpful. Such as uncommon things that most people miss.

    http://www.wowarmory.com/character-s...n=Theinsaneone

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA/910
    Posts
    147
    Code:
    #showtooltip Taunt
    /stopcasting
    /cast [@mouseover,harm,nodead][harm,nodead]Taunt
    ^ mouseover taunt for you. can keep something targetted while taunting something else. if you don't have an enemy mouseover it will just taunt your current target. You can do this for any of your moves that you want, just change "Taunt" in the code to whatever you want it to be. If it's a helpful spell to be cast on other players, just take out "harm" from the code.

    Code:
    #showtooltip [mod:shift]Battle Shout;[mod:alt]Commanding Shout;[nomod]Demoralizing Shout
    /stopcasting
    /cast [mod:shift]Battle Shout;[mod:alt]Commanding Shout;[nomod]Demoralizing Shout
    ^Multi-shout button, saves space on bars. Hold shift and hit it for Battle Shout, hold alt and hit it for Commanding shout, just hit it regular for Demoralizing shout. You can add more to it if you want just put like [mod:ctrl] for the CTRL key, etc. You might have to go in to your keybinds and unbind some of these if you put it on your action bar though because for instance if you put it in the 2 spot on the action bar and you go to hold shift and hit 2 it will switch you to action bar 2 instead of casting the move. You can just change this in the keybindings (hit escape during the game, it's in that menu).

    Also I came up with a misdirection setfocus macro on my hunter. When I first join an instance or raid, I click on the tank, hold shift and hit my macro, and that sets the tank as my focus. Then from then on when I hit the macro WITHOUT hold shift, it automatically casts misdirect on whoever I had set as my focus. When I'm questing I do it to my pet. Any time you want to change the focus you just target that person, hold shift and hit it again. That way you don't have to bother editing the macro each instance, replacing the person's name and such, or remembering to click the tank each time you want to cast misdirect.

    You can do this with Vigilance and cast it on whoever the same way, or if you're a rogue you can do it with Tricks of the Trade. Or if you're a ret pally you can do this with Divine Intervention and set the focus on some class that can rez. That way if a wipe starts happening you can just hit it and know you'll cast DI on the person you want to, and you don't lose any durability to your gear. Instead of frantically trying to target a healer and then cast it while your face is getting smashed in. A druid could also set a battle rez target with this macro. It has a bunch of different uses. PVPers could set the focus to be their arena partners for moves like pally bubble or a hunter's pet move that charges over and intercepts an attack that is getting cast on their buddy, things like that.

    I'll have to come back with that code after I go to my other computer, I can't really remember it exactly. I'll attempt to do it off the top of my head but it might be wrong, I'll come back and edit it later to clarify but try this:

    Code:
    #showtooltip Rebirth
    /stopcasting
    /cast [nomod,@focus]Rebirth
    /focus [mod:shift]target
    That's the working code for the macro, just looked it up in my macros cache file. Just replace "Rebirth" with whatever move you want, like Vigilance, Misdirect, Tricks of the Trade, etc.

    For the armory, I prob would have gotten a faster 1h heirloom weapon. But oh well, an extra swing sometimes is okay. You're in the right direction with "of the bear" gear. Obviously try to grab anything with +Def if you come across it but as you level and stuff it's not a big deal really. I believe there's a +100 health chest chant that still works on level 1 items. I'd toss crusader on the weapon while I level up. I'm sure you know you don't need the spirit and stuff on the shield but your options are limited at this level. This computer is being dumb and not loading your spec for me in the armory it's just showing blank talent trees so I can't really comment on that ATM.
    Last edited by kungfugrip; 08-03-2010 at 03:21 AM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    100
    So far the only macro that I find myself using is my charge/intervene/intercept macro and the basic principle was just to limit the number of buttons on my UI. Later, I also added heroic strike to it, just help on that initial pull on bosses. I don't really feel comfortable putting HS anywhere else cause I need the control, when I can pull back on rage consumption and since I find myself able to keep up HS on every white attack by clicking, when necessary, it negates the need.

    Code:
    #showtooltip [modifier:shift] Intercept; Intervene
    /cast [help] Intervene; [modifier:shift] Intercept; [harm] Charge
    /cast [harm] Heroic Strike
    Essentially, if your target is friendly, it will intervene. Otherwise it will charge, or if you hold down the Shift key, it will intercept. Last, if the target is an enemy, it will also queue HS. I tried to pull off a macro that would Intercept if Charge was on CD, but couldn't find a way. This is the next best thing for me.

    For vigilance, I don't use a macro. I find myself often changing my vig target during a boss fight so I use Grid and Clique to let me just right click who I want it to fall on.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA/910
    Posts
    147
    ^ for future reference, for longer macros you can type "mod" instead of modifier, and also take out the spaces after the semicolons and brackets, only space you need is after "/cast"

    this will help you with longer macros to stay under the characters limit

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    875
    There is a way to do that dannyl. Vene's blog The Art of Warbringer has got a great macro for doing that:
    Code:
    /castsequence [harm] reset=15 Charge, Intercept; [help] Intervene
    or
    Code:
    /castsequence reset=15 Charge, Intercept
    /cast [help] Intervene; [target=targettarget, help] Intervene;
    I use the top one, both have slight problems, like sometimes getting stuck on intercept when I know charge is available; and i still feel like I need to keep a regular intervene available. Which is coincidentally the same button location just with shift to access it.
    Personally I don't use modifier macros. I've considered it, but I use 3 action bars, one accessed normally, one through shift, one through alt. I do have 42 keybinds tho... (gogo n52te!)

    Other macro's I keep handy are intervene focus macro's.
    Code:
    #showtooltip intervene
    /cast [taget:focus] Intervene
    I use the same macro for taunt to taunt a focused target without losing my current target. (like on crazy cat lady in ulduar)

    I use a shield block + shield slam macro that allows me to shield block + shield slam when holding shift, straight shield slam when not pressing anything. Shield block goes off even if your stuck in GCD.. I don't recall exactly how it was written, but it's a great macro. If I remember (and if I log on tonight) I'll try and post it. Otherwise maybe someone helpful will post it.

    Personally I dislike macro'ing HS into other abilities. In my opinion you use a level of control, and could end up rage starved. Someone once compared macro'ing HS to everything to driving an automatic vs. a manual transmission. Yes the automatic is easier to drive; just as macro'ing HS to everything is easier then spamming it. However if you've driven a stick you'll know that you have much more control over torque, power, and gear selection in a manual.. same as you have greater control over rage generation, rage use, and skill use when keeping HS out of your regular skills. Bind heroic strike and cleave to your mouse wheel, up for one, down for the other and "Spin to win". Personally I use the back and forward buttons on my mouse.

    Be a Champion, not a hero.
    Drae

    http://www.zetbit.com/sig-1454507.jpg


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    100
    Thanks for the tips. I don't do a lot of macroing and believe this is actually the first one that has the mod conditional. So thanks for that. I'll keep the white spaces though, simply cause I come from a programmer background I dislike code that is a strain to read.

    @drae
    Also thanks for the macro. I actually spent a long time looking for something like this and never came across the site you posted. You said that it sometimes gets stuck though; does that happen often? Any idea why it happens? I only ever use intercept except under emergencies because I dislike the rage cost it has, especially when pulling. Most of the time, Intercept comes into play during trash pulls, so if the issue presents often, I'll be better off using the shift modifier.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA/910
    Posts
    147
    ^Lots of things can mess up a castsequence macro, like moving around in the fight, boss going out of range/LoS, some phase or something happening, Your first move in the sequence missing, not enough mana/rage/whatever to cast the full sequence etc etc. There's always a bit of a risk involved in using them.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    875
    I rarely find it an issue in pve, mainly in pvp. It works like 97% of the time. Id say 99+% in pve.

    I have no idea why it gets stuck; it may have something to do with intervening a friendly and having it reset the cast sequence timer.. but that is nothing more then a guess.

    I've been using that macro for over a year, and find it to be excellent. It may be that the second one was written to prevent the issue of it getting stuck; again not much more then a guess. I'm far from a macro Ace. Maybe re-posting in the macro section would get a response.

    Be a Champion, not a hero.
    Drae

    http://www.zetbit.com/sig-1454507.jpg


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    875
    Quote Originally Posted by Shiesty View Post
    ^Lots of things can mess up a castsequence macro, like moving around in the fight, boss going out of range/LoS, some phase or something happening, Your first move in the sequence missing, not enough mana/rage/whatever to cast the full sequence etc etc. There's always a bit of a risk involved in using them.
    Nice thing about that one is it's very simple. Charge costs no rage and always hits so that's not a problem. The range doesn't seem to be an issue because I mash the crap out of it when i prot pvp when trying to close a gap.

    I can't for the life of me figure out why it occasionally (very) sticks on intercept cooling down when I know charge is available. Usually a target switch fixes the issue.

    Be a Champion, not a hero.
    Drae

    http://www.zetbit.com/sig-1454507.jpg


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    100
    Kk, cheers guys. I'll give a whirl.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    45
    Macro's are for wimps...do what i did and get bitten by a radioactive spider! Now i have keybinds to go with my 13 fingers and glowing in the dark saves me a small fortune on lightbulbs

    only kidding ofc. Nice explanation of macro's which, i must confess, is still a dark art to me. Is there a Macro explanation thread on here? cant see one but how handy that would be.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    USA/910
    Posts
    147
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoogle View Post
    Macro's are for wimps...do what i did and get bitten by a radioactive spider! Now i have keybinds to go with my 13 fingers and glowing in the dark saves me a small fortune on lightbulbs

    only kidding ofc. Nice explanation of macro's which, i must confess, is still a dark art to me. Is there a Macro explanation thread on here? cant see one but how handy that would be.
    later tonight i'll type up a huge thread of all my druid macros. i have a LOT. some for combat, some for pvp, others just for convenience to save space on my bars. then i'll explain what all the certain modifiers and strings do and whatnot so you can mix and match your own. it'll prob be in like 3-4 hours or so.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    141
    What I usual use is this macro:

    Code:
    #showtooltip Charge
    /cast [target=mouseover, mod: alt, harm, nodead] Intercept; [target=target, harm, mod: alt, harm, nodead] Intercept; [target=mouseover, help, nodead] Intervene; [target=target, help, nodead] Intervene; [target=mouseover, harm, nodead] Charge;[target=target, harm, nodead] Charge
    /cast Hamstring
    It's a little bit longer than 255 chars so you need a mod for additional macro space.

    What it does is pretty simple.

    If your target (or mouseover) is friendly use Intervene
    If your target (or mouseover) is an enemy and is not in melee range use Charge
    If your target (or mouseover) is an enemy, not in melee range and you press alt use Intercept
    If your target is in melee range use Hamstring

    Works quite well .
    Wer reitet so spät durch Nacht und Wind?
    Es ist der Kodo mit seinem Rind.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    Quote Originally Posted by Hoogle View Post
    Is there a Macro explanation thread on here? cant see one but how handy that would be.
    http://www.wowwiki.com/UI_Beginners_Guide
    http://www.wowwiki.com/HOWTO:_Make_a_Macro
    http://www.wowwiki.com/Macro_API

    Edit: You can also paste macros into this and have them explained in fairly clear English: http://www.macroexplain.com/
    Last edited by Satrina; 07-27-2010 at 07:13 AM.
    Got a question? Try here: Evil Empire Guides and here: Tankspot Guides and Articles Library first!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    2,614
    Quote Originally Posted by Scyla View Post
    What I usual use is this macro:

    Code:
    #showtooltip Charge
    /cast [target=mouseover, mod: alt, harm, nodead] Intercept; [target=target, harm, mod: alt, harm, nodead] Intercept; [target=mouseover, help, nodead] Intervene; [target=target, help, nodead] Intervene; [target=mouseover, harm, nodead] Charge;[target=target, harm, nodead] Charge
    /cast Hamstring
    It's a little bit longer than 255 chars so you need a mod for additional macro space.

    What it does is pretty simple.

    If your target (or mouseover) is friendly use Intervene
    If your target (or mouseover) is an enemy and is not in melee range use Charge
    If your target (or mouseover) is an enemy, not in melee range and you press alt use Intercept
    If your target is in melee range use Hamstring

    Works quite well .

    Here is the same macro at 203 characters. Technically I could reduce it even further though it wouldn't be necessary. You don't require an addon to extend macro length if you can write your macros more efficiently.

    Code:
    #showtooltip Charge
    /use [@mouseover,mod:alt,harm,nodead] [mod:alt,harm,nodead] Intercept; [@mouseover,help,nodead] [help,nodead] Intervene; [Amouseover,harm,nodead] [harm,nodead] Charge
    /use Hamstring
    Some common ways of shortening syntax.
    1. "/use" is one less character than "/cast" and performs the same function.
    2. "target=" can be replaced with "@".
    3. "target=target" is default and not necessary to explicitly define. You only need to define a target if the current target is not used.
    4. Values within conditionals do not require spaces between them. For example "[harm, nodead]" is identical to "[harm,nodead]".
    5. You don't need to reuse the same ability name multiple times in a single cast or use macro, semi-colons split between different spells, however all possible modifiers can be merged before the one ability.
      /cast [@mouseover,help] Nourish; [help] Nourish
      Is functionally the same as:
      /cast [@mouseover,help] [help] Nourish
    *notes*
    You should actually change "#showtooltip Charge" to just "#showtooltip" and it will resolve to whatever the first ability is that the macro would resolve (so if you were holding ALT, it would show Intercept instead). I left the "#showtooltip Charge" in the macro because I wanted to rewrite it so it would be shorter, yet do the exact same function.
    Last edited by Quinafoi; 07-27-2010 at 08:59 AM. Reason: added *notes* at end
    "In anything, if you want to go from just a beginner to a pro, you need a montage." /w TankSpot WTB Montage for Raiders.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    141
    Thank you

    I have to say I'm not very familiar with macro context so I generally develop with the little knowledge I have and try do make them work in a way I want (yeah it's a real bad habit =/ ) so I'm really thankful for that.
    Wer reitet so spät durch Nacht und Wind?
    Es ist der Kodo mit seinem Rind.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    875
    Quote Originally Posted by Scyla View Post
    Thank you

    I have to say I'm not very familiar with macro context so I generally develop with the little knowledge I have and try do make them work in a way I want (yeah it's a real bad habit =/ ) so I'm really thankful for that.
    I'm bad for that too. I hate writing macros. More often I just make a modifier work for a whole bar via bartenders keybindings then hide the bar. Means all my macros are super simple. I should probably learn tho.

    Be a Champion, not a hero.
    Drae

    http://www.zetbit.com/sig-1454507.jpg


  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    141
    The problem is that I'm running out of space in my bars and also on keybindings. With this macro you can put all the charge-abilities on one button which is super nice .
    Wer reitet so spät durch Nacht und Wind?
    Es ist der Kodo mit seinem Rind.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    971
    @Scyla i would suggest bartender and for you to take a look at http://www.tankspot.com/showthread.p...ybinds-and-You

    at lvl 34 on my warrior alt i already need shift modifiers to keep everything in hands reach.
    [Today 06:48 PM] Ion:swimming in a natural body of water ISN'T acceptable...it's momentarily tolerable

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    WI, USA
    Posts
    2,614
    Quote Originally Posted by drae View Post
    I'm bad for that too. I hate writing macros. More often I just make a modifier work for a whole bar via bartenders keybindings then hide the bar. Means all my macros are super simple. I should probably learn tho.
    Actually, using keybindings is significantly better than addin modifiers within macros. This is because of the actual ability to reference and understand this information. If you hide an ability in a macro...

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /cast [nomod] Lifebloom; [mod:ctrl] Nourish
    While macro syntax is fine, this runs into an issue where the #showtooltip isn't really that relevant, because you actually can't see what holding CTRL will do until you actually hold it down. The advantage with keybindings on the other hand is you can have a sort of visual reference.

    [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] ...
    [ S1 ] [ S2 ] [ S3 ] ...

    In a more visual way you can have your action bars laid out. Then if you want to do the ability in the second spot of the second row, mentally you think second row is SHIFT and the button I want to press is 2 so the keybinding is Shift+2. If you use keybindings today, you should not change to using modifiers in your macros because keybindings are more robust. Additionally, keybindings take precedence over modifiers within macros. Say the button in the diagram above for "2" had in it "[mod:shift]". Now you have two things that result in Shift+2, however how the game will handle it is it will check for the keybinding first. Since there is a keybinding for it, the macro in the "2" spot won't get executed and instead the ability in the "S2" spot would.

    Your approach is better, don't change.
    "In anything, if you want to go from just a beginner to a pro, you need a montage." /w TankSpot WTB Montage for Raiders.

+ Reply to Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts