+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New bear tank

New bear tank

Hello,
    I'm new to tanking and have some problems.
    I'm training on normals, mostly ToC5, because I want the trinket from it. However I cant figure out how to get all ghouls from Black Knight to me, they are all running around like headless chickens and people die... and blame me. I'm afraid that I will not protect people from dying in heroics and raids. Any advice how to pull and tank packs bigger than 3 so mobs will not run away from me?

http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sh...mer&cn=Marrida
    I know my gear is not so awesome, but I'm farming heroics as healer so I will soon be a mix of 232/245.

Thanks in advance

That is a particualrly annoying part of toc5. I feel your pain.

Sadly the best way I have found to control that is to prepare the team before hand, and get them to stack at the beginning of the 2nd phase. Try and stack nearish to a wall so that you aren't surrounded by ghouls on all sides. This will (generally) bring all the ghouls to you, and you can get their attention with some AoE (eg thunder clap, shockwave) or (in your case) challenging roar. Then your team will scatter quick smart to avoid any exploding ghouls.

If you want to be *really* organised about it, I suspect that the animated ghouls are the animated corpses of the jousters you fought at the beginning of the dungeon. if you kill them all in one spot, they should, in theory, all spawn in one spot. Good luck trying to organise that in a PUG

As a warrior tank, I find it common that a stray ghoul will chase your healer or other squishy around, making life difficult. paladins have a much easier time with aoe control, but yeah. Give it a try.

PS: it occurs to me that your team was dumb. if they picked up a ghoul, they should have brought it to you for you to aoe/taunt it off them
    Last edited by Metasynaptic; 04-06-2010 at 10:57 PM.