+ Reply to Thread

Thread: (DK tanking) Frost vs Blood for me...

(DK tanking) Frost vs Blood for me...

wowarmory/Darkendiel

I'm an expert in Frost. I've been frost for quite a while now. I'm even frost for pvp But I've noticed that I'm a rarity. 90% of the top DKs are blood. Am I boning myself for not going blood? I love frost's aoe threat, and if I'm right, Blood is more like a warrior tank, hitting 2 targets mainly.

I guess from all the searching I've done, I've not really found a reason to switch. (howling blast crits at 10k? yeah baby.) Will I be losing threat if I go blood?

I tank in frost on my DK I wouldn't have it any other way. You can always try a blood build and see how it works but I say stick with what works best for you.

While i tank as blood, the poster above me is right, try blood but stick what you do best, since i've been blood since late 09' i've gotten used to it, but if you say you're good at frost you should probably stick with it.

Having tanked as both blood and frost for extended periods of time, and raided with them in ICC I can definitely say that both are viable. However, I have abandoned my frost dw spec for blood at this point.

Here's the way I see it:

Frost

* Strong Snap Aggro for AoE tanking thanks to howling blast.
    *Improved Icebound Fortitude

Blood
    *Higher base HP, with self healing abilities = easier to heal.
    *More flexible rotation due to Heart Strike only costing 1 rune; runes feel much more plentiful.
    *2h focus, dont have to worry about all of the dw issues like the need for higher hit/expertise rating.

Everything else is pretty much a wash, though Blood still has the edge in single target threat I believe. Once you get used to AoE tanking with blood, as opposed to frost, it's really not that hard to give it up.