+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Rogue tanking - Ideas and questions

Rogue tanking - Ideas and questions

Hey everyone, I know I'm brand new here, but this looked like the right place for tanking help. If the thread's in the wrong place, feel free to move/lock it, I won't give any hassle.

Anyways...rogue tanking. As defence/dodge rating is now not put on leather gear, rogue tanking is a lot harder. Not impossible, as I've found, but harder.

I started wanting to rogue tank as soon as I learned Evasion while I was levelling. Back then, it was my first character and I was a noob, so obviously that never happened. Now, I'm a seasoned raider of TBC and WotLK, so I figure it's a better time for me to do it now.

I'll put up different posts for spec, gems, etc later on, but right now I just want a few questions discussed about it, and any ideas you guys can throw at me. For the while, I'll only be doing heroics, no 10 or 25 mans yet [though I did OT Patchwerk, but I don't think that really counts for much.] My spec is 0/26/45, mostly for Cheat Death, Hemorrhage and Honour Among Thieves. Also have Blade Flurry and Riposte.

Anyways...questions

1 - perfect group composition for a 5 man?

I would have thought it would be: me, as a rogue tanking, then 2 more rogues and a hunter DPSing. Reason being that both can drop aggro if I fail [which will happen for a while, sadly] and both have a misdirect [which Mutilate rogues should be glyphing to last 10 seconds instead of 6 anyways] and a Paladin healer, as they have they have strong single target healing [with all the MD, it should be only me getting hit] and can bubble away their aggro.

2 - how to pull?

Obviously I have my throwing weapon if I need to drag a mob back. But, otherwise, this is what I've been doing:

Single target, stunnable: Cheap Shot, Hemo till 5 CP, Kidney Shot, then make sure I keep Blade Flurry and Rupture up, but in a 5-man, the mob's normally dead by the end of KS.