+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Prot Pally Tanking

Prot Pally Tanking

I've been playing for close to 4yrs now and find I am still learning. So any and all advice you give will be greatly appreciated. I am currently working to improve my tank abilities/gear to raid level. I run heroics on a daily basis (the new dungeon finder is awesome and we all know tanks have NO wait time to start! )

So, here is my character armory: Kandoril Level 80 Blood Elf Paladin
    For those of you with GearScore, I am currently at: 3526

As I work to improve my gear, I am keeping a close eye on my DEF. I make sure i don't go below 535, but strive to keep 540 if possible. I have my rotation down quiite well for the 9696 attack, and only occasionally lose aggro when a better geared or very high dps pulls threat from me. Irritating, but I know I need better gear, so I deal. I know I need to get my Hit Rating up, and can use a ton more stamina. I know my libram is green and quite horrible, but I figure it's not my main concern since I am doing ok in heroics. I'll fix that prior to my first raid run. 35 emblems will do the trick. (Libram of Defiance)

So, all things considered, look me over and offer any advice/constructive criticism you can to help. I spent so much time making level 80's (i have a mage, a rogue, and a 77 DK) that I let my tanking lapse. This is my favorite character and I want to develop him fully. Thanks in advance!

Kandoril

PS. I've been reading how Seal of Vengeance offers more threat than Seal of Corruption? True or no? I use Corruption.

They are the same seal. Horde uses Corruption, Alliance uses Vengeance.

You may be confusing it with Seal of Command! SoComm is an excellent aoe tanking seal, but only if you have reckoning in your spec. Overall it's not something to worry about. If you can tank with SoV, you can tank with SoComm.

I won't reply with gear upgrades, I'm sure you already have ones planned out, but here are a few things to keep in mind: