+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Noob Question for Tanks-

Noob Question for Tanks-

I am new to tanking, so take this post for what its worth in that light (this is my second post on this site - I think).

I just signed on with a new guild who lost its OT a few weeks ago. I was asked to be an OT in one of their ten man raids, which was really exciting in light of the fact that I enjoy the end-game content immensely.

On raid night, I sign on, get my pots and stuff ready and wait for invite. Shortly after accepting the invite and zoning in, the GM asks me to be ready to let his MT, who had solid gear - have the tanking gear () because she is the guild's MT and "we need to make sure she is geared for later content."

My question: Is this normal? None of the other toons played under that 'rule.' I guess the reason I am asking is this: How then, am I to gear? Is this the way most raiding guilds work? If the raid falls apart - like several I have seen in the short amount of time that I have been in the guild, and I no longer get to get in those encounters, then I feel like a chump for aggreeing to the GM's request. Any thoughts?
    Thanx in advance!!

I've not really encountered the "MT Gear" priority system for years, it seems a little outdated considering the vast majority of encounters can put equal pressure on your 2nd tank's gear.

Well to be fair they should have let you know about that little caveat in the loot rules before inviting you in. That said, I'd start finding out what loot rules are prior to raiding with/joining a guild. At this point in the game, main tank gearing is sort of a joke, because a good percentage of the fights in Icecrown require both or all 3 tanks to tank the same boss. Why give one priority over the other?