+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 13 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread: I really worry about Prot Warrior DPS.

I really worry about Prot Warrior DPS.

We were in ICC25 last night. Working on Festergut. A lot of wipes, but we were persisting, refining the tactics and getting better each try. Until we hit the enrage timer on 22%. We just didn't have enough raid-wide dps. This was good progress though, and so we decide to swap out a few players, try and push for as much DPS as we can. This means we squeeze every last drop of damage out where we can get it, including tank DPS. Our Blood DK tank is pushing 5k dps on this encounter. At my best attempt, I hit just over 2.6k. So I step out in favour of our Paladin tank. I'm an officer and it was my decision to step out, we did need to try and push it as best we could for progress, and if getting that bit more raid dps was going to help, then that was the best course of action.

Damned if I'm not miffed that the other tanks manage to do nearly twice as much damage as me, but if we get the progress this week, we probably won't have to try min/max as much next time, and it won't really matter as if I'm tanking. But then I read this later on:

World of Warcraft - English (NA) Forums -> Upcoming 3.3 balance adjustments

Protection warriors have too much utility and damage for PvP. (We don't want to hurt their tanking in PvE of course.
    This does not bode well...

I don't trust Blizzard not to hurt Prot in PVE. I fear that they're going to do something like reducing damage and upping threat. I could live with a nerf to stuns for the sake of PVP. Reduce or remove the stun from Improved Revenge. Maybe reduce the stun on Shockwave (even though with mob pathing the way it is, the stun is an absolute godsend). I could even live with Intercept being removed from Warbringer. But I can see it happening. Prot DPS is probably going to take a hit for PVP 'balance', with increased threat values instead.