+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Tanking With NON Tanking Weapon

Tanking With NON Tanking Weapon

Yes you have read the title correct. I am asking about using a non tank stat weapon to tank.

FIRST! Let me explain I have been tanking since I started playing this game over 5 years now. I have NEVER used any weapon that did not have tank stats. However due to my luck with weapon drops in wrath I have found myself in a tough bind. My guild is a core raiding guild and I am a OT we just downed the first 2 of 3 new bosses in ICC 25 and starting Professor Putricide Tonight. We had a few hick-ups as most guilds did but we adjusted and we killed bosses. Now I really dont think I will use this weapon to tank progression raids but the idea interests me so I thought I would get some feedback

Weapon in Question

VS

Now according to my math Using the 264 axe vs the weapon I have now witch is the piece of shit one from new heroics I would be out .81% avoidance and thats not really that bad of course we really dont wanna lose any avoidance and my threat is not a issue so there is no real reason to adjust my normal game play and use this weapon.

So I guess my question.....

What do people think of using non tank weapons to fill a spot till a real weapon comes along?

http://www.wowarmory.com/character-s...&n=Maxiumerror

Last edited by maxiumerror; 01-07-2010 at 01:49 PM. Reason: added armory link

Unless you're a druid or death knight tank, I do not suggest using a non-tanking weapon unless it has sufficient health + armor over other tanking weapons. The reason is that even though it's losing .81% over all and getting more damage + threat, it isn't really needed.