+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Basic DK Tank Guideance

Basic DK Tank Guideance

I have been tanking for a couple months now as a 80, and completely agree with the 15 Biblical Talents for a DK Tank : Toughness(5) Anticipation(5) Blade Barrier(5). You can check out my build at: The World of Warcraft Armory

I love this build, and my rotation is very nice: DnD, IT, PS, Pest, BB, BT, BB, DC, DS (if blood rune on CD) or HS(if Blood rune off CD), DC (two if RS didn't proc too much in there).

As a DK you need to macro Rune Strike in with every ability you are using (This is huge esp after an additional 12% inc [i believe?] threat generated from Rune Strike).
    Do this by typing the following in your macro field
    /cast [Shift-Click from your spell book the ability desired]
    /cast [Shift-Click RuneStrike from Spellbook]

That is a must for any DK trying to start out tanking

One thing about your macro. It's almost correct, but a better idea would be to format it like this:

#show tooltip [Name of ability here]
    /cast [Name of ability here]
    /cast !Rune Strike

The '!' Keeps you from overriding a Runestrike that's already been queued, which can help your threat by a small amount.

Also, keep an eye out here for some amazing DK tank guides (Satorri has an amazing breakdown of the blood spec, he's the man.). Or check out my blog Tank Harder! because I'm dying for feedback and just posted a (hopefully concise) DK tanking guide

Welcome to the tanking world

Re: Message

Thanks for the tip. I will try out the ! and see if it helps. I think im am going to gem my gear with the epic yellow gem +20hit since i have a good amount of dodge? and i am capped for 5man. Plus im 1emblem away from my T10hands which will increase my hit by 64
    Check my gear out if you have time on the armory and let me know if you think additional hit is the way togo? B/c if im not hitting the mob I can't generate agro lol Thanks.