+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Newb bear seeks advice....

Newb bear seeks advice....

Ok - so im new to the world of being a bear tank, but for some reason I cannot seem to hold aggro against:

Warlocks (no matter if they are undergeared)
    Balance druids (not tanked with other ferals so cannot say on that)
    and mages

or for what ever reason I cannot seem to hold aggro on the groups of mobs before the first boss in Azjol - no matter what the dps are (class/spec wise) and sometimes (on the rare occasion im raid tanking) have problems with threat even tho im using maul every other move as well as mangle, lacarate and Ferire Fire (feral)

so i was just wondering what is going wrong and how can i not suck so badly lmao! - tho tbh ive not done much raid tanking so just mostly been doing heroics atm

Basic stats (self buffed in bear form)
    37777 HP
    5184 AP
    40.47% crit
    39.89% dodge

this is the super secret strategy to bear success. make a macro for every ability like this:

/cast Mangle
    /cast Maul

Also, on packs with more than 2 adds make sure you are using swipe on your GCD's. Make sure you are using the http://www.wowhead.com/?item=40897

Don't gem for hit rating. You are 53 rating over the cap anyways. Grab the Idol of the Corruptor - Item - World of Warcraft from the conquest badge vendor.

ok - is it better to get the one u posted or

yeah - Glyph of maul is one of the major's I use (and i had gemmed for hit when I had needed it :P)

Idol of the corrupter > the triumph badge one.

and yeah i macroed maul into all my abilities as well.

also i would change up your spec a bit, something closer to Talent Calculator - World of Warcraft ... i'm not sure why you've got shredding attacks
    Last edited by Dreg; 11-01-2009 at 09:46 AM.

Yeah - as to the swipe spam - it does not matter how many times i do that, i just cant hold threat from warlocks moonkins and mages - does that mean i suck or just that they are aggro hogs?