+ Reply to Thread

Thread: ToGC Blood Tanking - Techniques (Survival and Threat)

ToGC Blood Tanking - Techniques (Survival and Threat)

I've already learned and read about all the specs viable for Blood tanking. However, what I'd really like to learn more about are the following, in the context of tanking as Blood for ToGC10/25:

1. How to manage your cooldowns (when to use them - VB, RT, IBF, ERW, BT)
    2. How to manage your runes (for which strikes/spells for threat/mitigation)
    3. Balancing hit & expertise if you can't max both for threat (getting the most with what you have)
    4. WotN and Rune Tap

I'm sorry if this may seem very obvious for everyone else but I'm really trying to learn how to effectively tank as Blood as I'm very new to using the spec. Will really appreciate your input for this.

You probably shouldn't have made a thread since reading all the Satorri Post's answer all your questions. =/

They are hard questions to answer in general. We can get into specifics of different encounters and I promise that people will do things differently and we can fill a few dozen pages with different specific tactics.

Questions 2 and 4, as Lectux said, I've written essays about. Question 1 is highly personal and often better for you to find your own way, but if you want to ask specific situations I don't mind sharing my techniques. Question 3 is really more often dictated by gear. Ideally you want to hang out with as close to 8% miss reduction and 6.5% dodge/parry reduction as you can swing, and going over that on expertise is not bad at all (but going over that on hit will not be helpful really). If you find yourself shorter on one, you can use food to patch it up. I usually chomp hit food because I've had trouble staying close to the cap and I've recently traded down some of my hit to get into more 245 gear.
    The (Old) Book on Death Knight Tanking
    The New Testament on Death Knight Tanking
    -----------------------------------------