+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How to tank as a warrior?

How to tank as a warrior?

Posted this in the WoW Warrior forum. They sent me here. I've read through some of the guides, but alot of them seem to assume you're level 80. Here's the lowdown:

Background: I started playing WoW when it first came out as a human paladin. I leveled it to 63 before leaving the game for awhile. My raid experience extends to wiping on Lucifron once, back when that was the thing to do

I recently decided to get back into WoW and created an orc warrior. My goal is to become a key member of whatever guild I join, specifically as a tank. I want to tank Arthas and all the other endgame content I'm in it for the fun and to experience the thrill of interacting with the lore at that level.

I've been leveling as Arms/battle stance, which has worked pretty well. I've been in a few groups so far (RFD and SM Cathedral) as a tank, with my 2H axe/hammer/sword of the day. This has worked pretty well, although I've often lost aggro on mobs that weren't my main target. I thought it was because the groups I ran with were overloading with damage.

Fast-forward to today: ZF invite. I thought, "Sure, why not? I tanked/ran ZF tons as a pally back in the day". I happened to have a 1H and shield in my inventory for just such an occasion (never used 1H/shield or defensive stance before), as I had heard that tanks should use 1H/shield and defensive stance. I worked on some of the mobs outside the instance to get my weapon skill up to where I could actually hit mobs of my level, and then jumped in. The first pull was no different than any of the other instances I've done, with the addition of switching to defensive stance:

- Charge
    - Rend main target
    - (Optional, if it's up) Retaliation
    - Sweeping Strikes
    - Thunderclap
    - Overpower
    - Switch to defensive stance
    - Heroic strike (which I recently saw causes additional threat)
    - Taunt any runners