+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Complete Newbie to PvP seeks advice

Complete Newbie to PvP seeks advice

Okay I've done very little PvP in WoW but I decided the other day that I'm after a fresh challenge so I'm changing my (pretty much redundant) Retribution offspec to a PvP Holy build. Thing is, I have no idea where to even start!

Well, I have some idea - I'm going to save the last few Conquest badges I need to get the full Deadly set since I have no further use for them anyway. I'm also going to do some Battlegrounds and get some Honor to buy some of the other newbie stuff that needs no Arena Points to buy.

However, that's about all I got. I know Deep Prot healer builds got hit with the nerf stick due to the change to TbtL but I also hear it's pretty fun and easy to play and that the nerf hasn't affected it to the point of it being entirely redundant. However I've also heard that Deep Holy is the way to go, at least down far enough for Holy Shock. Any advice on spec? I'm more familiar with the Prot tree and an offensive healer role does appeal, but I'm undecided.

Also I know that Resilliance now reduces all damage rather than just reducing crit chance so is it now recommended that I deck myself out in full Resilliance gems / enchants or do I need a healthy dose of Spellpower or Int alongside it?

Finally, where else can I get gear aside from Conquest Badges and grinding BGs? I have around 900 Stone Keeper's Shards but it seems to be mainly gem patterns and head/shoulder enchants. I also have 100 or so Champion's Seals.

I hope someone can help - don't worry about sounding patronising, I feel like a complete and total noob so give me everything, no matter how small or obvious it may sound, it's all greatly appreciated! Ideally I want to get into healing an Arena team but any advice on perparing myself (gear/gems/enchants) will go a long way.

Thanks in advance