+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Gathering Threat on a Group

Gathering Threat on a Group

I am new to tanking from being a mage. lol

I ran some heroics today and did very good on single threat and decent on small group threat but piss poor on groups of 4. Granted I was in a fail group but I feel like I could have been doing better. What rotation should I be using to gain threat on a group?
    Thanks!
    Chief

For AoE pulls I usually use Thunder Clap and Shockwave when ever they are off cooldown. When they are on cooldown I spam cleave while tabbing through the targets using the target threat abilities. Shield Block can also help alot because of Damage shield.

Charge (a caster) -> Thunderclap -> take two steps back so you can hit all the mobs with... -> Shockwave -> Shield Block -> Shield Slam the charge target -> Thunderclap.

This will establish a good aggro on the majority of the mobs. And decent Threat on the charge target. Now the fun part.

Rotate through targets like mad and devastate / Shield Slam / revenge when TC is on cooldown. Spam cleave as rage allows. The key is changing targets quickly and often.
    (I highly recommend having enemy name plates enabled [default "v"] it makes selecting specific mobs much easier... even better? get aloft!)

I find this much easier with Cleave bound to my mouse.

Hope that helps.

Be a Champion, not a hero.
    Drae

http://www.zetbit.com/sig-1454507.jpg

Here's how I do it:

Group of 3 is same as 4+ so...

- Start running in spamming heroic throw on X (second target)
    - Once the throw goes off, immediately charge skull (or an in the back mob) and SS
    - Tclap
    - switch to third target, revenge (should be procced cause my shield block is bound to my SS hotkey)
    - Back away from party if i have room, Shockwave ; if not, shockwave the not-skull targets