+ Reply to Thread

Thread: doing the right thing or over doing it?

doing the right thing or over doing it?

Hi guys, unlike almost everyone here i'm still new to tanking and i was wondering if i'm tanking properly or overdoing things. Ex: Northend Beast(1st add), a prot pally tanks it 1st, i go battle stance sunder up, clap, demo, shattering throw then go retal b4 going to dstance and taunting the add. after he taunts i go zerker then pop recklessness then do some dps etc. Am i overdoing it on a simple tank and spank duty or am i doing the right thing? thanks

kcee of Jubeithos

Why would you start in battle stance when you can devastate in defensive stance and do more damage to the boss while still stacking sunders?

With a decent rotation, you really don't need to pop rec. with the amount of rage you will have.

What happens if you pop recklessness and the other tank gets gibbed and you need to taunt? Now you're tanking for the next 10 seconds or so with while your healers shift to a new healing target while taking 20% more damage. For how much additional dps?

Quote Originally Posted by Griff View Post
    What happens if you pop recklessness and the other tank gets gibbed and you need to taunt? Now you're tanking for the next 10 seconds or so with while your healers shift to a new healing target while taking 20% more damage. For how much additional dps?
    And if your second tank dies durring the first boss how do you plan on solo tanking the 2 worms?

You can Devastate in battle stance too... and believe it or not, just spamming Dev from battle stance will leave you really high on the threat list. At the beginning of the fight a few lucky crits and you might pull...

I do that as well, I let the other tank grab the boss, then I go battle stance -> charge -> 5 sunders -> shattering throw.