+ Reply to Thread

Thread: DK Heroic Rediness Questions

DK Heroic Rediness Questions

Hello,

Yes, I'm a noob, so now that we've established that I have some questions regarding tanking heroics.

BACKSTORY: Tried to run H CoS yesterday as tank. I've run it as dps, so I knew the instance. Agro was not an issue. Living was. The healer (priest) suggested he might not be enough of a healer to 'keep me up' indicating that he had healed Naxx 10-man no problem but keeping me up was just impossible. The next pull after that went fine. The pull after that one we wiped and he left the group and hearthed.

So basically he threw me under the bus as being undergeared.

Ok, fine. I'm a big boy and maybe I am undergeared. Ergo, this post. So what is the appropriate gear level to tank heroics as a DK?

I currently have 544 defense and 24.9k health specc'ed as Frost. My gear is basically the stuff from:

http://www.tankspot.com/forums/f97/4...ear-guide.html

I have no tanking gear from heroics or Naxx. I have successfully tanked The Old Kingdom on heroic but we had a well geared paladin healer that was crit-healing me for 14k. I think a mage could have tanked with that guy as healer.

My AOE rotation is basically DnD,IT,PS,PEST,HB,BB,FS,OB,HB. I use one of those buff/debuff mods so I can take advantage of Killing Machine and Rime whenever they proc. Single target rotation is the old IT, PS, BS, BS, OB, OB using FS and RS as runic dumps.

Again, threat hasn't been the issue. Survivability is.

Do I need better gear? If so, where do I get it? Try to 'tag along' on 10-man naxx as dps? Should I respec to blood for tanking? Should I just write this whole tanking thing off and relegate myself to the DK dps scrub gallery or reroll a healer?

I'd link my armory, but it shows me in my dps spec/gear. I could itemize out my gear from memory if that would help.

U can go blood for more health, or start using ur CD's alot more often untill you get better gear