+ Reply to Thread

Thread: I'm a loss

I'm a loss

I am at a loss on my main (The World of Warcraft Armory). I've been sitting at 80 for about 2 months now (I've been playing off and on). I am fairly well geared, when compared to most tanks when they do their first Naxx, and until I manage to raid I doubt my gear will get better.

But, no one wants a tank for Naxx who doesn't have any experience running it. I've watched the videos of all the fights, am more then willing to listen to advice over vent/TS, I have all the appropriate add-ons, and most of the people I've partied with would say that I am excellent at keeping hate, grabbing adds, watching for pats, knowing the strats, etc. It kinda seems like a catch-22, how am I supposed to get experience without being able to run it?

Now, you might say get a guild. Well, I'd love to, I don't mind working and I honestly would prefer not to be carried. Raiding strikes me as a challenge which would be why I'd want to do it. The problem is, that either they don't raid Fri-Sat (anytime Fri-Sat too), or they have no real drive to progress into raiding. I realize I'm a tank at a bad time; most guilds are already far past Naxx with dedicated tanks to boot.

I've looked at a few options:

I recently ditched my second blood tanking spec for an unholy DPS spec. Maybe I'll be able to run Naxx as a DPS so I can say I do have Naxx experience

I could continue running heroics and hope I run across someone who notices my skill and happens to need a tank. This might work, and if I hadn't recently transferred I would have many old contacts to call upon, but I doubt it.

Or, finally, give up on any hope of tanking. I have a resto/ele shaman at 71, and I know I would have no trouble seeing content on him.

Does anyone have any advice? All I want to do is tank content.
    “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe.”-Albert Einstein

Here's another option.

Lie.