+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Need input on DK tank spec,gear, etc.

Need input on DK tank spec,gear, etc.

I've been playing DK as a tank for a few months now. I am moderately familiar with the mechanics (I say moderately because its always changing and I can always learn more) and I do pretty well as a tank. With 3.1 I decided to make 2 specs for tanking, a blood single target and an unholy aoe threat. I was frost for about 2 months prior to 3.1 and unholy prior to that. I just wanted to get some second opinions on my specs, gear, enchants, glyphs, and gems in order to maximize my tanking efficiency.

The World of Warcraft Armory-Brutus

I've never been a big fan of blood tanking, but I won't argue that you will generate a good deal of threat. I think honestly though, that you sacrifice a bit too much for mitigation talents to do so. Just my opinion.
    I haven't done a lot of Unholy tanking but it looks very nice for tanking Magic damage. I suspect your AOE tanking would rely mostly on Unholy Blight, D&D, BB and Corspe Explode. I always found HB to be extremely effective for AOE tanking personally. D&D, HB, BB and you can save your RP for IBF and frost strikes.

Just a comment on some of your gear and gems, you are at like 560 defense when you only need 540. You can gem for more raw avoidance or stamina, like +parry instead of +defense. It will give you a bit more avoidance/stamina. Only a minor trade off, the gains are worth it. The extra +20 defense you have contributes to avoidance, but you can get more avoidance out of it by gemming straight parry/dodge.

Blizz shouldve given multi-freakin-mass specs)

There are so many diff possibilities.

Be4 i start too bullshit the mainpart, id like to emphasise some things , which are true for all specs imo. Obviously we all know to take the 5point starting talents in all trees.