+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Need advice on keeping threat

Need advice on keeping threat

Hi All, first time poster...

I've been playing WOW for just over 4 months, recently hit 80, and have been tanking for about 4 weeks now. Am an Orc Warrior.

My question is related to keeping threat from mobs with 4 or more NPCs. One example of this is the room in HOS where guys just keep coming.

My usual strat for attacking a mob is to charge in (or taunt), thunderclap, shockwave, demoralizing shout, and then a combo of shield bash, devastate etc, tabbing through each NPC. This works well, and I generally keep 100% threat, bar the odd NPC that runs off to the healer, which I then get back with a taunt or weapon throw.

The problem I have is when there are multiple adds, and how to keep all the threat on myself from them as they join the fight. I use Commanding Shout when available to get the attention of all those in range, but when NPCs are running around all over the place attacking all players, what is the best strat for rounding them back up and getting threat back on me... particularly with that HOS fight I mentioned above.

Another good example is the harpoon room in UP where waves keep coming out.

Tips and advice appreciated.

Thunder clap, shockwave and if it gets really outta hand challenging shout. Cleave also helps if you have it glyphed to hit the extra target and can be substituted for heroic strike if your using the revenge glyph to give you freebies.

Even with TC and CS I still have trouble keeping them on me. I guess I just need to get better gear to increase my threat.

the halls of stone event and anything where you have waves of mobs is all about timing for a warrior tank.