+ Reply to Thread

Thread: AOE Tanking Group Dynamics

AOE Tanking Group Dynamics

Hello all, i'm new to tankspot. I've been a warrior for 3 years but wotlk is my first time doing end game raids and heroics (The World of Warcraft Armory)
    I have problems tanking when there are 4 or more mobs occasionally. I'm not sure if its me or the groups that i run with. Some groups go smooth and I rarely lose a mob. Other groups i'm in are harder, typically when there is a fury warrior or mage. I rotate on TC, 3 target cleave, two target devestate. I also use shield slam, revenge,SW, and Conc Blow, SBlock when available.
    I've main tanked 10&25 man OS, 10 man VOA, and a few other heroics successfully. I haven't done H HoL, HoS, OK.
    I've attemted H CoT once and we failed.
    I've also done H UP 3 times before they fixed the bug on the third boss. Now that they have fixed the bug in H UP we have to run the gauntlet on the third boss and it seems impossible for me to keep aggro. It seems that TC, SW, and cleave are my only AOE. my cleave is very slow and SW has a 20 second cooldown. I've only attempted this once since the patch but the group had extremely good dps. fury war, hun,rog, druid heals. we were going through the trash mobs and first two bosses like it wasn't even on heroic. I did however have a hard time keeping aggro on the trash mobs even though with other groups in the same heroic i've done well.

Am i doing something wrong or did we not have a good strategy for the gauntlet? We tried moving fast and slow but we ended up dying near the end. I'll start off holding aggro good until near the end of hallway when more mobs come out and spread out farther apart. It seems as if a prot Pally is better for the H UP gauntlet and CoT. OS and VoA were easy since there are only a few mobs at a time.