Closed Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 90

Thread: Satrina Buff Frames

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523

    Satrina Buff Frames

    Since I'm here more than on WoWInterface, I don't mind taking bug reports and feature requests here as well.

    SBF 3.0 is in beta right now, since I got hammered by work pretty hard and didn't have enough time to get it complete before the patch. I'm hoping to get it to full release by the end of the week. Lots of new features and goodness!

    Find it here: WoWInterface - Satrina Buff Frames 3.0

    Some screenshots:
    http://s.wowinterface.com/preview/pvw11458.jpg
    http://s.wowinterface.com/preview/pvw11459.jpg
    http://evilempireguild.org/misc/SatUI_explained.jpg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,908
    i couldnt see any screenshots there.. is there a place where I can see how this looks ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Northern Massachusetts!
    Posts
    823
    Yeah, satrina, I would be very happy to try it out, just want to see a nice pic first!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    You can make it look like whatever you want =) I added a few sample screenshots, though.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Stockholm
    Posts
    37
    i rly do like your buff frames, but the unitframes seems alittle, hmm how to put it, a little dull tbh =). im not complaining, just mearly saying i love the buff frames, and not hte unitframes =)
    Never Fear When Baronen Is Near

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523


    The unit frames were never going to be a publically released addon, actually. I am one of those apparently very rare people who get no useful information from a status bar that is used to show a quantity. On the other hand, I can observe a number in my peripheral vision and parse it without having to pay full attention to it. That led me to make a set of unit frames with no status bars in them to cater to my own quirks.

    Someone saw them in a screen shot and asked for them, then another, and so I eventually put them up for download. Eventually I put the casting bar back on the target frame because people were asking, but I still use http://www.wowinterface.com/download...Progress2.html in place of a casting bar. By my reckoning, for every 400 people who download, one will actually want to use them.

    I don't worry at all about who doesn't use my unit frames, because they are definitely not for everyone. Definitely a "if you like em, here you go" sort of thing =)

    Buff frames, on the other hand, is designed to cater to how you want your buffs to look. It's been becoming more and more popular since I released version 2.8 a few months ago.
    Last edited by Satrina; 10-15-2008 at 06:36 AM. Reason: what happened to URL tags?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,908
    i like that.. i am rebuilding my UI from scratch tonight and will give this a shot.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15
    Hmm think something is off on the Options folder. Mod works fine. However when I try to resize and stuff (/sbf options) I don't get the menu box. The buff, debuff, and enchant placeholders are displayed along with the timers below though. But once you can't exit out and the placeholder icons stay no matter what and requires me to log out to reset them.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    That means you have gotten an error, but don't have Lua error reporting turned on in the game.

    Escape -> Interface -> Help -> Display Lua Errors

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    Are you using cyCircled?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15
    No I am not. Let me start turning off some mods and see if I can find one that is conflicting.

    Nope, turned them all off and SBF was the only thing running and still getting the error. I can post what I see of the lua string if you'd like. I am assuming btw I am the only one that is having a problem hehe. Also, I noticed SBF options is in red text at the add on menu.
    Last edited by Anna; 10-15-2008 at 02:54 PM.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    If you're still getting the problem after you load beta 6, posting the error string would be great. Thanks!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    Beta 6 is up:
    - The positioning window is hopefully now in a more obvious place
    - Positioning window also has labels now!
    - Profile stuff (new, use, copy, delete) now works
    - Fixed an error where you could sometimes only adjust positions of items in frame 1
    - Increased the maximum scale to 3.0x
    - The spells tab works normally again for setting up show in frame/always warn (though filter diagnosis is broken currently)
    - cyCircled support should be working now

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London
    Posts
    278
    Is it possible to have one buff showing in two different frames?
    Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    I fixed buff mirroring in beta 7, yep. It's currently by frame, so you'd use a filter or "show in frame" to move buffs to a different frame, say frame 3, then set frame 3 to mirror its buffs (on the layout tab) which would show them also in frame 1 (buffs) or frame 2 (debuffs).

    I plan to allow people to set mirroring by individual buffs, probably for 3.1. Probably will allow mirroring to an arbitrary frame as well.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    15
    Ok it is not working for characters I previously had at 3.0.1. A brand new character with sbf running works fine. Must be a saved variable file somewhere is my only guess.

    Well I just deleted my WTF folder to fix it. Only thing I can think of to do. Off to redo all my addons! weeee
    Last edited by Anna; 10-17-2008 at 12:38 PM.

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Canadia
    Posts
    3,523
    Few things you can try there in future:

    1) /sbf options and go to the Global tab, click the "Reset Frames" button

    2) /sbf options and go to the Global tab, copy the profile from a character that doesn't have a problem and work from there

    3) /sbf options and go to the Global tab, create a new profile then select it using the Using Profile dropdown (and delete the old one that was busted afterwards)

    4) Log out of WoW then go into .../World of Warcraft/WTF/Account/ACCOUNTNAME/SavedVariables and delete SatrinaBuffFrame.lua

  18. #18
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    118
    Quite like it satrina. However the copy to frame two from frame one doesnt seem to work for me.

    Otherwise no complaints.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    43
    I was just wondering if this will show S&B procs as a buff? It look pretty cool, either way, thanks for this Satrina.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    77
    After seeing your suggestion on the thread about SnB proc indicators I had to try it out. Best thing I have done in a long time, loving the mod. My only complaint is no button to click for options (that I have found). Any chance of a fubar connection or at least addition of a minimap button. (or instructions on how to find this button if it's already implemented and I'm just being [dense stone])

Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts