+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Warrior - averaged rotation

Warrior - averaged rotation

Since the implementation of Sword and Board our consistent SS-Rev-Dev-Dev rotation is obsolete, for obvious reasons. Which is imo a very good thing, since it reduces the chance that we fall asleep while tanking a single target. =)
    However, even though this reactive tanking most likely will be more fun, it'll make threat calculations a pain in the ass. The latest change to Revenge (SnB proc) makes it even more complicated.
    So i think we need some kind of "averaged rotation", which is a sequence of skills that represents our inconsistent rotation in the long term and which we can use for threat calculations.

First off - I'm not particularly good at math, so i'd highly appreciate if someone with some real math skills could recheck this stuff.
    Also, i'm a poor programmer, so i did this simulation with an editor and a calculator. Feel free to code a more professional simulation.

Ok, so i simulated a 100 sequences starting with Shield Slam followed by Revenge, since these are still (with the latest change to Revenge) our most effective threat abilities. Now, Revenge will proc SnB 30% of the time, so 30 of those 100 sequences go on with SS, the other 70 with Devestate (since SS and Revenge are on cooldown). And so on. The next ablility is:
    - SS if SnB was procced or the last 3 abilities were not SS
    - Rev if the last 3 abilities were not Rev
    - otherwise Dev
    Hope this is understandable.

Then, after each "round" (column), i calculated the average use of every ability in that sequence. After 4 GCDs, this is 1.51 Shield Slams, 1.49 Devestates and 1 Revenge. A ratio of roughly 1.5SS:1.5Dev:1Rev. After 4 GCDs, we get about the same ratio, and it should be about the same after 12 GCDs. I guess these are the relevant parts, because SS (in the worst case) and Revenge need 4 GCDs to cool down.