+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Red Light vs. Blue Light & Eventide

Red Light vs. Blue Light & Eventide

I finally got around to installing my new keyboard and mouse that have been sitting here since my birthday a week and a half ago.

Specifically, the new Microsoft/Razer projects which have been getting great reviews across the board. I originally considered getting the Logitech gaming keyboard, but decided to go with Microsoft this time around, as the only difference between the two is length of macros... and I don't intend to start botting.

I'm somewhat new to gaming-specific hardware. The only advanced hardware I use on my computer is a WACOM tablet for drawing and for our old guild strategies; the background image of my Warrior in Dreadnaught on this website is a result of that tablet. Beyond that, I've had more luck with a $5 Dell keyboard over the last six years than with any other keyboard I've used. Perhaps the Dell keyboard will see it's day again.

In the first half hour of using the new mouse, I am shocked. The boost in precision is not only noticeable, I can't believe I've been missing this. I can't believe I ever played Soldier of Fortune II or Call of Duty with anything else. I'm tempted to get Photoshop installed again and see if I can do any precision artwork without the WACOM.

The keyboard is less noticeable. Keyboards are usually an exercise in adapting, and this is no exception. It's certainly nice, and the addition buttons in the vicinity of my left hand will make it easier to access more of the wide range of abilities a Warrior needs to have ready when tanking. Also, the ease of access to Windows Media Player controls while in-game will be a boon.

Red vs. Blue. I'm not referring to the Halo series, but instead to the backlighting on both the mouse and keyboard. Walking into the room and looking at my computer desk in the dark is awesome! Both peripherals have a bright, sleek blue glow.