+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Main Tank - Off Tank

Main Tank - Off Tank

So, I'm curious about MT and OT areas.
    I've come to the understanding that MT and OT should be specced a little differently, and are expected to perform differently as well, but I'm not very clear on what that's really about.

I was under the impression that the tank focused on gaining and holding aggro of the entire pull, and that the plan was to pull a set of mobs that could be taken with a combination of healing the MT, and CC the ones that did damage in excess of potential healing. The OT would simply pick up any extras, spreading around the damage and taking pressure off the MT.

I don't think that's accurate anymore.

So I'm going to put forth a couple of scenarios and I'd like to have some feedback on what the MT and OT should be doing. ^.^ (Forgive my raid questions, I've no experience in a raid scenario yet, but I'd like to understand where I'm going when I get there.)

1) 5-Man, You've pulled 4 mobs: 1 DPS range, 1 Healing Caster, and 2 DPS melee mobs.

2) 5-Man, 4 mobs: All melee DPS

3) 5-Man, 3 Mobs: All range DPS

4) 5-Man, 6-8 Mobs: 2 Range DPS, 2 Healers, Melee DPS remains

5) Raid: I don't know what an avg size kind of pull might be here, but I hope someone can describe the MT/OT tactics. i know that the approach will be different depending on overall group construct and what you're facing, but an idea of the general themes would be appreciated!

I'm looking to answer questions like:
    -- "In what situations does the MT tank just one or two mobs and the OT picks up the rest?"
    -- "In what situations does the MT try to hold most/all the mobs and the OT catches the ones that have been pulled by accident to other party-members"
    -- "Are there mobs that are not worth trying to tank, just leaving to the DPS?"
    -- "Do the MT and the OT try to tank different types of mobs? (Casters/Melee DPS/Range DPS/Healers/etc...)"