PDA

View Full Version : Tanking New to Tanking

xenodude
07-18-2011, 06:17 AM
Hey guys,

I'm new to tanking and i know that all of the information is somewhere in these forums, there are just so many posts... Anyway, i was wondering if i make a new toon, should i start tanking right away or should i go another route and if so which? start raising which profession(already have enchanting on another toon)?

thanks

Loganisis
07-18-2011, 08:15 AM
If you're interested in tanking, read my primer in my sig. It's desgined for Warrior Tanks, but a lot of the concepts are transferrable, outside of the rotation. Which I probably should update soon. As for when to start - no reason not to start now, just realize you'll need to add abilities into what you use as you gain them. For now however, you'll be gaining experience on managing threat, pull rate, positioning, etc.

Airowird
07-18-2011, 08:26 AM
I'ld advise to go tank through lower instances already, pick up dual spec for questing when you can. If you really wish to level fast, go DPS first till 40, then pick up tanking offspec and start learning. Once you hit Outland or Northrend, only do instances once or twice for the quests, but whenever you're bored or got spare time, try doing quests as tank, find yourself interesting situations and tank mobs to death!!
I'ld seriously advice against not trying out tanking pre-85. Not only is not everyone in a PuG friendly for new tanks, but it would be a shame if you find out tanking is not really your thing at 85.

For professions, if you're levelling I'ld suggest Mining + Blacksmithing or Jewelcrafting. The major reason being that mining allows you to level the other profession and still gives a useful tanking stat. Here are pro's & con's of BS vs JWC:
Blacksmithing:
+ Profession benefit with most options (any 2 gems of your choosing).
+ Can create your own gear (unless you're a Druid).