PDA

View Full Version : Tanking How I'm learning to tank

wórg
04-13-2011, 04:35 PM
Hi, thought I'd share how I'm learning to tank incase anyone else it doing the same...

I'm pretty new to WoW by some peoples' measure, and have never really been very focused. Spending most of my time dicking around. Until recently, when I decided I wanted to get a toon to max level and heal/tank. I've never really tanked, except a brief stint at about level 25 where I tried tanking with a warrior alt for a few levels. I never really got it down though, despite some helpful hint and tips from the good people here at tankspot!

Moreover, I really wanted a Druid, so that I could stop rolling alts! I wanted my 'all-in-one' solution.

Anyway I levelled my Druid as resto, for instant queues, dropping into catform here and there to do quests.

I ran normals and heroics as resto, building up my gear and rep as I went. On the side though, with pug approval, I would 'need' on leather drops that would be good for a feral.

I now have a complete set of i346 with a few rep i359 items. I took a trip over to Elitist Jerks - Druid - feral bear thread and skimmed over the contents. I spec'd glyphed, gemmed, enchanted and reforged what I had as best I could.

I then headed over to the dummy's and worked out two main rotations and an opener:

1. AOE rotation
2. Single target

I hammered on the dummy for a few hours, moving my buttons and keybinds, till I got a good layout, and the muscle memory started flowing. I worked on the 2 rotations so that I could mix and match, depending on the situation.

I tweaked my ui with bartender, pitbull, omen, omnicc, sbf, dbm, tidy & threat plates.

I then joined LFG and the fun began...