PDA

View Full Version : Death Knight Need serious help, total beginner.

tschm003
03-26-2011, 09:50 PM
Okay guys, does anyone know of a guide for dk tanking? I'm currently level 58 with a blood spec and followed some guides on the tree, but I literally have no idea how to tank, i.e. rotation, general knowledge... so I was wondering if anyone could help me out? I don't want to go into my first dungeon looking like a total idiot.

uglie
03-26-2011, 10:36 PM
http://www.tankspot.com/showthread.php?71144-Cataclysm-Death-Knight-Tanking-Satorri-s-Guide-to-the-Bloody-Future

Netheras
03-27-2011, 08:02 AM
Aside from reading up on the DK abilities and all that good stuff, you need to know how to tank... which is hard to condense without experience. Satorri has another great article here: http://www.tankspot.com/showthread.php?73073-Meta-Skills-The-less-obvious-way-to-win!

If you have never been a tank, it is going to be tough for you. You will make a lot of mistakes. So here are some general guidelines for how to think during the fight:

1. Am I close to death? - if you are, you need some cooldowns and some serious mitigation. What do you have that isn't already on CD, and how can you bring yourself back up, or stall til the healer can get you up? For DKs, we have an awesome self heal through Death Strike, so be sure to pay attention to your Runes, and make sure you have an Unholy and a Frost rune on hand.

2. Do I have threat on everything? - if it is a multiple mob pull, you're going to want to make sure that you are the only one tanking anything. Use your AoE abilities for initial threat generation, and then Heart Strike with tab targeting to build lasting threat. Get an addon like Tidy Plates to check both mob position (if it is near your healer, it shouldn't be) and mob threat.