PDA

View Full Version : Death Knight Death Knight having issues with multiple mob pulls

Reyvia
03-24-2011, 07:47 PM
ARMORY: http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/earthen-ring/reyvia/simple

Hey all, I'm rather new to tanking (only been doing it for about 3 months now) and am enjoying it greatly coming from a rogue. I seem to have mastered the basics of DK tanking but still have trouble with multi-mob pulls. Maybe I am overestimating my gear but I rarely ask for CC anymore (which coud be a problem) and usually end up burning a ton of my cooldowns and spiking all over the place when I pull multiple mobs, specifically any mobs that do a lot of magic damage (HoO and Stonecore come to mine).

Am I over estimating my gear to tank 4-5 mobs at once or am I not handling the situation correctly? Usually my rotation for multiple mobs goes something along these lines:

DnD -> Outbreak -> Pestilence -> BB and DS spam with RS sprinkled in

Any feedback or help is much appreciated!

Netheras
03-24-2011, 08:30 PM
If you have casters in the group, save a Blood Rune for Strangulate so they won't do any initial damage. From there, make sure you have a kill order set up so that the casters go first. Balance this against mobs that have bleed effects/mortal strike debuffs and be sure to know what you can do beforehand to minimize your own damage and the damage going out to the melee (bladestorms or what have you take healing away from you and onto the melee - so might want to mark that as second. Melee will usually jump right on it)

Make sure your runic power is going into RS so that you have more runes available from the RE procs to Death Strike. CC is your friend regardless of gear - you have to think of the healer as well (if you run with pugs or less geared healers). As for any other magic damage, just use AMS and keep Mind Freeze handy.