PDA

View Full Version : Death Knight Playing around with Unholy.

Critter
03-23-2011, 01:26 PM
So I've been Frost since I started playing this toon about a month ago. I really like the feel of Frost and I feel I've been doing moderately well at it. But, for various reasons on my 10 man I just joined up with I'll probably end up as Unholy.

Anyways, I was doing moderately well as Frost. On my bad nights I can end up around 14-15k DPS and the other night on Halfus I ended up around 22k DPS (don't recall what Drakes were up or anything).

So, I specced over to Unholy and decided to try it out. I ended up around 9k DPS after about 7 minutes on a target dummy with me having no buffs and no additional debuffs on the target dummy.

http://us.battle.net/wow/en/character/proudmoore/peaceful/advanced

Is my Armory. A couple things:
Yes, I have PvP pants. Yes, I have a tank Cloak. Both were substantially better than what I had.
Upon typing this, it just now dawned on me I never swithched over Glyphs, so I figure that has a fair amount to do with it.

Now, I've been following EJ about Unholy and I'm still a bit unsure if I'm even doing it right.

Single Target Priority Diseases > Dark Transformation > Death and Decay/Scourge Strike (UU or Death Runes are up)> Festering Strike (BB and FF are up)> Death Coil (Sudden Doom, high RP)> Death and Decay/Scourge Strike> Festering Strike > Horn of Winter
With Outbreak and Festering Strike, Diseases are easy to keep up without really thinking about it. It took me awhile to get the hang of getting Death and Decay on the target dummy but I feel I had a lot of downtime waiting for the Runes to refresh. Really feels like Unholy has a lot more downtime than Frost did, which I assume is me doing something wrong.

My other question is exactly on when/why to prioritize Festering Strike and Scourge Strike.