PDA

View Full Version : Priest New with shadow priest

Cutash
03-16-2011, 08:06 PM
Hello ppl. Im new at this class/spec and have been reading a lot, but i havent figure out a good shadow rotation :( if some one can tell what have been working for shadow ill be very thankfull

kingcomrade
03-17-2011, 01:07 AM
Keep your dots up, use mind blast on cooldown, use shadowfiend and archangel on cooldown, otherwise mind flay. People make a big deal about opening rotations but it hardly matters, it's the first 10 seconds of 6 minute fights. Mind Spike 3x + Mind Blast adds.

Nicki
03-17-2011, 05:25 AM
err not quite, you want to mind blast with atleast one shadow orb you 'can' miss one mind blast without a shadow orb but 2 in a row will mean you lose the buff Empowered Shadows (which you should aim to have about 80-90% uptime) however shadow orbs can be a bit random at times, which is why the openning rotation conversation seems so meaningless these days because essentially you rely on luck to get the most damage there have been pulls where I have had all my dots up and cast 3 mind flays and still not gained a shadow orb.

On adds it depends how much health they have and how many there are; Multidoting is by far the most effective dps with 3 adds up that have a decent ammount of health while you do a combination with 5+ having some dots rolling and mindsear (make sure emp shadows stays up though). Then you have to decide whether you dot with VT+SW:P or just VT as VT is a good damage per cast and once you start casting alot of dots mana can go quite fast. Basicly Mind Spikex3 + Mind Blast is limited to heroic dungeon trash but does find some use on some raid encounters but its a rare situation.