PDA

View Full Version : Tanking The new but not-so-great adventure of an old timer tank

Kinni
01-16-2011, 08:35 PM
Hi my fellow tank comrades,

I've recently came back to Cata full time. (I made several come-backs during WotLK and hated the fast mode dungeon running. Combined that with the dungeon finder and my busy work schedule, i was only casually playing once in a while.) And I found it quite difficult to get my old main tank mojo back.

A little background of me, I started playing as a warrior since wow launched. Played 3 years as one of the main tanks for my guild's 40 people raid. Fading out during the late period of TBC and raided for the last time in Karazhan. Then as I mentioned above, made a couple attempts to come back during the late phase of WotLK, was outgeared by everyone's alts and was turned off by the fast mode dungeon zerging. Due to my recent work time getting better and seeing all the nice changes in Cata, I decided to give this new gears/progression "reset button" another try.

SOOOO long story short (finally realized I've been talking too much), I'm having the most difficulties (besides the heroics encounters) with trash mob groups. I tried to do my normal rotation of rend > tc > sw > cleave at first, but it seems that i either start losing threat on one of the mobs who somehow got away from my attacks or my healer couldn't keep me alive. Then when I tried to do CC, I would not know what to do in the first couple seconds in fear of breaking CC with my Thunderclap. And end up losing aggro and have to struggle putting all the mobs in a nice cluster.