PDA

View Full Version : Paladin Ret Pal 1H/Shield or 2H now??

xion824
12-02-2010, 06:24 PM
I'm still fairly new to the whole Ret Pally thing. I've been seeing some other Ret's getting much better dps output with 1H and shield than me with a 2H heirloom and comparable gear. Is this now the choice for dps, or am I seeing things? I did notice that tanks seem to be putting out much more dps now. I just hit 70, and according to recount, in a 5-man I'm getting about 900dps. I feel like I'm really missing something. Any ideas?

Eoika
12-02-2010, 06:27 PM
Wait till 85, its really hard to state where classes should be anywhere other then that. Ret-1h may be the way go at your level, but that doesn't yield true at 85, or it shouldn't at least, since the idea of ret is "IHAZTWOHANDS".

Krenian
12-03-2010, 08:19 AM
...wait...what?

How the heck does this work?

Reev
12-03-2010, 08:22 AM
I'm thinking maybe you're encountering prot paladins? Sometimes prot can put out much higher dps than other low level paladins because they have access to more AoE abilities. Maybe this is what you're seeing? A 1h weapon should never do more damage than an equal item level 2h weapon for ret. Not only do 2h weapons generally hit harder, but you also get 2 handed specialization built into the spec to make you do I think 25%? more damage while wielding a 2 hander.

trazik
12-20-2010, 09:54 AM
As a lvl 85 ret Pally with iLevel over 329 (heroics minimum) I tested my DPS and was saddened to see it in the 4000 to 4500 range (depending upon the Seal I used). I was able to peak at 5300 to 5500 if I got lucky with free, repeated Excorcisms.

I have a guild-mate Shaman who claims his DPS is consistently 9000, and I have heard rumours (maybe half-truths) of up to 15000 DPS from braggers in-game.

I accept that I am rather new (3 months playing WoW) but Paladin DPS seems really bad.

Turkson
12-20-2010, 02:10 PM