PDA

View Full Version : Tanking brand new Prot Paladin

Mertcha
11-04-2010, 05:35 PM
I am brand new to WOW and playing as a prot paladin. I am looking for any advice on how I should mold my paladin as I am leveling. Any paticular stats I should focus on. Any must have gear I should be aiming for as I get closer to 80? Any help would be appreciated.

theodisius
11-05-2010, 03:20 AM
Generally speaking, don't sweat about gear until you are max level. And with Cata imminent, that may mean - don't worry too much about L80 gear, but focus on getting to L85 and gearing up then. Levelling in WoW is rather quick now and forgiving, especially for a paladin, so you don't need to obsess about gear. That said, obsessing about gear is half the fun of WoW, so feel free to indulge. I liked to check out instances on wowhead for quest rewards and even drops as I levelled, trying to pick up the best tank gear as I went.

What level are you? Pre-50, there are very nice cheap PvP items - rings, cloaks, boots etc - associated with Battleground vendors and the random LFD rewards are sweet. Blacksmiths also make excellent levelling gear - after 70, look out for the cobalt tanking gear and then the tempered saronite. After that, most dungeons have one or two nice pieces of tank gear - Nexus gives you three from quests, IIRC. I think doing instances as you level is half the fun of being a tank, although some PUGs can make it painful.