PDA

View Full Version : Warrior Coping with rage/initial threat

Kitinan
11-01-2010, 10:43 PM
I am new to warriors and tanking, and I need some advice.

What is the most effective way to deal with starting at 0 rage, assuming Battle Shout and Charge are on cool down?

In randoms I ask people to wait for shockwave to go off before starting DPS, but most DPS ignore this request. Sometimes this causes a downward spiral where I am not being hit, so I am generating less rage, and I have trouble keeping aggro on everything because I can't generate as much threat since I can not use my abilities.

Staying a bit ahead of my DPS has helped me a bit with this, and I have a lot better gear than when I started out. However, I am worried about Cata when there might be more down time between pulls, due to waiting for healer mana or talking strat. Potentially, I will be starting a larger number of pulls with 0 rage.

Another issue I've had is a warlock kept pulling groups. When I asked him why he kept pulling, he said he was trying to pull them to me. I am not really familiar with the DPS/Tank relationship because my previous character was a healer, but is it common for DPS, other than a hunter with misdirect, to pull like this? I find it very difficult to obtain aggro when the initial threat is on a DPS. Sometimes thunderclap/shockwave works, other times (especially if the enemies are spread out) it is not so pretty. So I taunt/heroic throw one, charge/shield slam another, grab another one with a devastate or revenge, then attempt to deal with any remaining mobs if there are any. Sometimes losing aggro on either the one I taunted or shield slammed. Is this a problem with me, or should DPS be doing that?

This thread is kind of all over the place, but I am just looking for warrior specific tanking advice. Mainly dealing with rage. And what is expected of me in a dungeon? What should I expect from the others in the dungeon?

All advice is greatly appreciated.