PDA

View Full Version : Tanking Tank Confidence

detour
04-15-2010, 02:14 PM
Story time... Once upon a time I started playing WoW and a warlock was my main. I hit 70 (during BC) and eventually got bored with standing around dotting things, I wanted to be in the action. So I decided to re-roll as a tank. I made a Tauren warrior and fell in love. I tanked a bunch of lower level instances (RFC, WC, SM, ST, etc) and was often complemented on my competent tank ability. I quickly leveled to 58 and headed straight to Outland, eager to start tanking the "real" instances.

Disaster strikes. I had been tanking successfully at the lower leveling as Arms. For Outland, I decided it was time to man up and re-spec'ed as Prot. Unwilling to let go of Arms, I mistakenly made a hybrid spec (down to Shield Slam when that was a talent). I ran Hellfire Ramparts with a pug, wiped on the last boss... repeatedly. My confidence in my ability to tank was a shaken. Next, a healer friend I'd made while tanking ST asked me to if I'd tank ramps. I figured having someone I knew around would boost my confidence back up. We wiped on the first pull off the bridge in the beginning of the instance. twice. Needless to say, that group disbanded quickly.

Now I could have blamed the ele shaman who was pulling with chain lightning or the warlock who could have cc'd the caster mobs that were giving me trouble but I didn't. Mostly I blamed my crappy spec and re-spec'd full prot with a cookie cutter spec (this was just around the time Blizz introduced Devastate). But the damage was done, my tank confidence shattered. I tried practicing with my new spec, working on multi-tanking, learning to use the unfamiliar abilities. I'd constantly get whispers asking me to tank but I could no longer bring myself to do it. Unable to enjoy what had made the game so fun for me, I un-subbed.