PDA

View Full Version : Warrior Gearing advice for a new-ish tank

Kadeyrn
12-26-2009, 06:16 AM
For ease of access, my armoury. (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Aman%27Thul&n=Kadeyrn)

Background:
After burning out and taking an extended break, I started playing the game again about a month ago, switching from my paladin tank to a druid, who I play as a healer. Recently, however, as one of my 10 man group's tanks disappeared, I power-leveled my warrior (see above) to 80 to replace him.

As such, I have some experience with tanking (Kara, ZA, SSC, Hyjal and T7) as part of my guild's semi-casual raiding.

The Future:
I will most likely be tanking on my warrior for 10 mans for the foreseeable future (I heal for 25 mans). My 10 man team will be entering Icecrown Citadel tomorrow for the first time after taking a break for Christmas. Prior to 3.3, they (I only returned a few weeks before we went on hiatus) were farming ToC and had were working on Ulduar hardmodes.

What I understand about gearing:
I should have three primary sets for raiding:

1. A maximum EH set that focuses on HP, armour and block
2. A threat set that focuses on hit, expertise and then strength/block
3. A avoidance set that focuses on dodge/parry/defense

(all this is while staying defense 'capped', obviously)

It is my understanding that the first set is mostly used for tanking in raids, with the others switched in situationally (e.g. Hodir hardmode for set 2, and Saurfang for set 3).

The gear in my armory is currently my only set of gear, as I've only been working on my warrior for about a week and haven't had time to gather multiple sets.

What I want:
Advice, mostly. Am I wrong somewhere? Have I done something really stupid, am I charging down the wrong track?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

Griff
12-26-2009, 09:51 AM
You're on the right track. One note that I'd make is that for threat, expertise trumps hit.