PDA

View Full Version : Tanking Basic Tanking 101 help needed please.

Aitch
12-22-2009, 04:43 AM
Hi I'm very new to tanking. until now I've only done content with 2 friends, and so we have casually 3 manned our way through older content. So I've never really seen how a tank should operate in groups.

Now with the /lfd tool I'm trying to tank for 5 man normal dungeons.

I'm a level 80 Frost DK and here is my Armory sheet The World of Warcraft Armory (http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Jaedenar&n=Aitch)

I have read Cider's easy 540 defense guide and managed to reach that.

I've also read Satorri's scomprehensive DK guide.

The problem that I've got is that all the guides/info on this site assume a level of knowledge that I don't have.

So I have the following newbie questions.

1. How do you prioritise which mob to kill first in a group? I generally will tank a caster first as it's easier to see a melee mob run off and attack someone than a caster send fireballs off.

2. When fighting a boss with adds should I grab agro on everything and stick to the boss and let the group take down the adds, or should I agro everything and work my way through the adds first?

3. Do you announce pulls when in random groups? With my freinds we talk on skype and so it's never been an issue but in random groups I'm not sure on what the correct etiquette is. If you do announce your pulls do you use a macro and if so what is it?

4. What is a good way to switch mobs in a fight? I currently click but is tabbing a better method? Clicking seems faster and more accurate, but can be tricky when you've got a group of mobs clustered around you.

5. Addons - For tanking I currently use Omen, recount, runewatch. Are there any other that you would recommend.