PDA

View Full Version : Death Knight Question on Proper Use of DK Cooldowns

Vidus
12-21-2009, 01:48 AM
Hi,

I'm new to DK tanking (My main is a warrior tank, and I have a paladin tank alt as well), and have been running into some mixed messages on the subject of using cooldowns. I've yet to hit 80 (77 currently), but I've been using the LFG system liberally to get some dungeon experience as I've gone.

Currently, I'm frost spec, and have access to Unbreakable Armor and IBF. Should I be using these abilities constantly? I've heard some recommend this, saying that I won't be able to take the dmg like other tanks will if I don't. Or, should I be using them like I use on my paladin/warrior: to help survive spikes that I know are coming in my damage taken.

Thanks,
Vidus

Haberdashery
12-21-2009, 04:45 AM
I am a new tank as well; just starting tanking for the first time with a fresh 80 DK (original main was a Mage). I'd also like to see an answer to this from those who have far more experience than I.

Having said that, I am also Frost currently (2H for now, planning on DW-ing once I get the weapons to do so), and I've found that the following seems to work well: I use Unbreakable Armor liberally, since it has the shorter cooldown (1min, 50secs w/4pcT9). Icebound Fortitude I use more as my "oh snap" button, or if I know there are impending stuns. Obviously this changes if I know of a certain spot where there will be a damage spike for whatever reason; then I'll save UA as well.

Satorri
12-21-2009, 07:55 AM
Well, when DK tanks first went live, we were designed to be "cooldown tanks." Then it was true that you needed to use your cooldowns well and often so that you didn't take more damage than other tanks.