PDA

View Full Version : Tanking New warrior tank needing some advice

Whippersnapper
12-17-2009, 11:25 AM
This is my first ever tank character. I've always played dps for the most part. I started out with a hunter and then went to a mage as well as having a dk which is pretty fun as far as dps goes. My main love in MMOs is ranged classes. I've just always been comfortable with it in just about every game I've played. Recently, however, I figured maybe it was about time to try something new as the game has really become very stagnant for me.

I leveled this character mainly in fury and then switched to arms once I reached northrend and fell in love with it. However, that wasn't my goal. I just recently hit 77 and figured if I'm going to do this tanking thing I myswell get myself going now and try to get a feel for Protection as a spec.
I picked up a basic tanking build off of a post on these forums(15/3/53). I started playing......and slap my mom and call me elijah, I can't believe how many skills/cooldowns/buff timers that I need to keep track of to be effective. It's like a freaking train wreck on my hotbars.

After lots of reading posts on this forum I've come to the conclusion that not everyone tanks the same way. Unlike dps where every class pretty much has a bread and butter rotation for every spec, warrior tanks have like 15 different ways to tank effectively. What I'm trying to figure out is if there is such a thing as a warrior tanks "Bread and Butter" rotation. I feel if I just had something solid to fallback on and get comfortable with I'll be able to eventually start learning all the little extra quirks to go along with it.

Sorry, the post is getting a bit long I'm just trying to show everyone that I literally have no idea what I'm really doing.