PDA

View Full Version : Tanking I can tank a paladin just fine....but not a warrior....

Goatboy
12-12-2009, 12:55 PM
I'm fairly new to tanking, I've been healing previously.....

So I started a Paladin tank and managed to gear her up mainly through instances....I've become pretty proficient at the lower level instances up to ToC now- tanking with no real problems...

I heard that warrior tanks were much better so I levelled up a warrior to 80, spent all the cash I had to gear him up and ended up with him geared better than my Pally...

However, I'm wiping constantly with him. I can't seem to hold group aggro and keep losing mobs like mad. I wiped twice at the front gates to heroic UK- an instance I hadn't been killed in for months.

My computer is a bit slow with a small screen so repeated taunting can be a chore.

The only instance I've actually managed to successfully tank with my warrior was heroic VH. I tanked a few non-heroic instances but still feel like I'm barely hanging on despite being higher level and better geared than the rest of the party.

Any hints?

I've been opening with heroic throw or shield slam then keeping up a shield slam, revenge, devastate, devastate with a thunderclap and heroic strike thrown in for good measure.

Swam
12-12-2009, 01:01 PM
<3 Cleave
Charge is also a great opener, tclap, s slam, revenge procs, shockwave, dev,dev,dev etc.
I never really had to mass taunt. As a warrior tank I found that marking was needed more than other tank classes. This gave me all the leeway I needed when dealing with packs, just make sure your dps know your kill order.

PvtCaboose
12-12-2009, 01:13 PM
Tanking with a warrior is so much more fun than a pally imo. There are so many more things I have to look out for when tanking. But for AoE I usually start off by marking a skull (most classes with aoe will ignore this but melee do a pretty good job of watching it) with: