PDA

View Full Version : where should i go

tenhigh88
12-03-2009, 04:51 PM
I am new to the forum and could not find a post that answered my question

I just recently reached level 80 with my prot warrior and i have had no experience with instances or raids. I have read up on how to tank and feel i am ready to start instances. My guy has very basic armor and i was wondering what instances i should be going through to get better equipment.

Here is my guy Warcraft Armory

Insahnity
12-03-2009, 04:57 PM
First off, congratulations on finding the right forum to post it in. Please continue to ask questions like this here.

I'd start by reading http://www.tankspot.com/forums/f97/41986-ciders-easy-540-defense-gear-guide.html

Right now, you first need to figure out the basics, like what stats to watch out for in your gear.

AxLxExX
12-03-2009, 05:09 PM
When you first hit 80, you should work on some stats. I'm posting these in order of which you should go for first.
1. Get defense capped. Having 540 defense means that you can tank anything in the game without getting critically hit, thus allowing your healers to keep you alive for the fights. Defense cap opens the door to everything else at 80.
2. Once you get defense capped, I'd work on getting lots of stamina. There is literally nothing wrong with having tons upon tons of health. You're currently at 19k, which is about average for someone that's just hit 80. I'd probably try to get to 24ish before I started trying to get into heroics. The sad thing about WoW today is people won't let you tank unless you're overgeared for the content.
3. Once you have the def cap, and tons of stamina, getting lots of hit and expertise is crucial. Making sure your swings land on the boss means that you're generating threat. By generating threat, dps can do more dps thus pwning faces. Getting these caps is important for harder fights.