PDA

View Full Version : Prot Warrior Threat issues

duffyma
11-29-2009, 08:55 AM
Hi all

I'm pretty new to Level 80, and didn't run many instances before I hit 80. I've tried to gear up using guides on here and from guildies

The World of Warcraft Armory (http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Earthen+Ring&n=Vorgot)

Problem I have is that I am trying to run Heroics with my guild, and they are a very helpful bunch, but I am struggling a little to hold aggro. We have very good healers. My DPS guys have to give me a 5-10 second start before they can lay in, my TPS is very spiky and slow to build.

I use Rawr, using the overall rating as a base to optimise, but someone suggested I try rating for TPS. This knocked my Stamina right down, and swapped in a lot of my DPS gear, which I am pretty sure is not the way to go.

I reckon the main issue is my technique, but my guild reckons I need more TPS and they can back me up on stamina with heals and scrolls. This leaves me open when pugging though.

I don't really intend to raid much, I'm a 5 man normal and Heroic mode guy, any advice would be appreciated.

Solonlee
11-29-2009, 09:08 AM
Hey brother... what is your threat rotation... as in: what skills are you prioritizing?How badly do these dps out gear you? when we start... it can be very difficult to keep up with some of the heavy dps classes due to gear.While you do not want to focus on dps gear so to speak... some things will help your threat. Make sure you are using a faster type tank weapon. Be aware of your group make-up... know ahead who are your threat stealers and mark targets if you need to. Pay attention to expertise, hit, shield block value, and str on gear... expertise is worth making sure you gear for immeditely after survivability stats... the rest will add to your threat nicely...so don't forget about them.give us an armory and the info I asked for...

duffyma
11-29-2009, 09:30 AM
Link to my Armory