PDA

View Full Version : Help Please

emsteiner
11-23-2009, 06:48 PM
I hit the 540 defense rating now what should I focus on? BTW I am a noob to Tanking so please be gentle and I have spent hours searching through threads and have not found a answer.

AxLxExX
11-23-2009, 06:56 PM
Run heroics. Get better gear. Get more stamina.

krc
11-23-2009, 07:04 PM
Right now in current content the main stats you should be focusing on is EH(armor and stamina) without completely neglecting avoidance and expertise. The reason you should stack EH is because of the way encounters are made. Almost every boss that will kill you is done by unavoidable damage and unpredictable physical burst. The only thing that can really prevent these deaths is by stacking EH. Tankspot has an EH calculator so you can calculate the correct balance between stamina and armor for your gear level.

Giliandrix
11-23-2009, 10:17 PM
If you want some specific advice, post your armory.

Kurtosis
11-24-2009, 12:07 AM
After 540 defense, the next highest priorities are 264 Hit rating (8% hit chance) and 26 Expertise. After that, EH (stam/armor), then avoidance (dodge, parry, block). (As a DK I'm not sure whether block is mitigation or avoidance, will let you look that one up)

Without high enough hit and expertise, your threat will suck and you won't be able to hold aggro, b/c your strikes will simply miss too much (at least against lvl 82 minibosses and 83 bosses). Then when you lose aggro and the boss runs off to kill a healer, your taunt will fail also b/c it depends on hit. Healer will die, raid will wipe, and you'll become known as a fail tank b/c you couldn't control the boss, your #1 job.

I've seen this multiple times with new 80 tanks (wars, dk's, and pallies) who were told to get 540 defense then stack health and dodge, or Str, or something else, to the neglect of hit and expertise. You can try it, but I can guarantee you'll be re-gemming and re-enchanting for hit and exp shortly after anyway.

Varagar