PDA

View Full Version : My Damage Spike Problem

sacri
10-30-2009, 10:52 PM
I've been tanking for 1-2 months now and I really like it. I even have two tanking specs, one blood and one frost. While chaining heroics I've noticed that sometimes my health drops significantly within a few seconds. This became even more apparent when I started pugging Ony10 and TOC10. Needless to say, its giving me and the healers a heart attack at times. I am not sure what the cause of this is. I suspect getting even more avoidance would just make it happen less, but not fix the root cause? I would be grateful if someone could take a look at my armory and let me know if I am doing something wrong.

My Armory: The World of Warcraft Armory (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Azgalor&n=Phyrex)

Armor in game w/ Frost Presence: 24999
HP in game w/ Frost Presence in blood spec: 35271
Dodge w/ Horn of Winter: 27.25%
Parry w/ Horn of Winter: 18.85%

Thanks in advance!

ZeruelTenken
10-31-2009, 02:17 AM
You're right about the effects of getting more avoidance. Not that it's necessarily a bad thing to make spikes more rare, of course. I have to wonder, just from looking at your gear if you're not noticing larger dips once the proc of The Black Heart wears off and you lose that big chunk of armor. That said, you can do a few things given your gear to try to make yourself a bit harder of a target. Finishing your Hodir rep for the better shoulder enchant or changing to the 30stam/15resil PvP one would both work. Also, those shoulders are 245, so spring for an epic gem - I'd suggest strength/stamina instead of AP/stamina if you really want to split the gem, since you'll get both AP and some parry from the strength. You've got enough defense on the cloak that you can swap that enchant for the 225 armor one. Beyond that, you're down to either "get better gear", which is easy enough to say, I suppose, or have someone more knowledgeable about DKs catch something regarding your spec.