PDA

View Full Version : New Pally Tank need advise

Jarvick
10-26-2009, 04:10 AM
I am new to being a Pally tank, I just started tanking about a week ago, Ive managed to get some gear and even was able to hold up as the Prime Tank in a 10 man OS run. Here is my problem, When I tank heroic's or anything where I have to hold aggro on more then 3 targets, I can not hold them. I seem fine when I doing 1-2 have no problem. Ive even been able to handle Heroic ToC when I was some what under geared, Its just when there are so many adds (Like the Dragon Boss in UP when all the Zombie's come out I can hold 2-3 but when it gets to be more then that I seem to lose the aggro, and ealier today we wiped 3 times on that spot). Any help would be great, Ive included my character name and realm to the Armory so can check out spec and gear, please help. Thanks in advance Jarvick

Name:Jarvick
Realm Winterhoof
Side:Horde
The World of Warcraft Armory (http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Winterhoof&n=Jarvick)

Martie
10-26-2009, 04:47 AM
Okay, here's the thing.

If people go all-out AoE, there are many classes that will pull aggro off of you, so tell them not to. Tell them to single-target the marked mobs down first, and then AoE to give you a threat lead. Make sure you have leader and mark one or two mobs - that should give you all the threat you need to last you the fight.
If you marked mobs and someone pulls an unmarked mob while the marked mobs still live, don't pull it back to you. They obviously chose to ignore your very simple request because they can tank the mob themselves. Make sure your healers know you may do this, so the healer can ignore said DPS as well.
(Always save the healer, though.)

Don't forget to use divine wrath, it's a strong spell against swarming undead.

Your spec looks good, I'm using other glyphs myself, but those are good enough for heroics.