PDA

View Full Version : Tanking mechanics question

Nahele
10-24-2009, 11:20 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm new to the Deathknight class and played a prot Warrior for three years before. Satorri's guide has helped me a lot, but I still got some trouble with handling the mechanic of a DK.

I usually start tanking a trash group with Death and Decay -> Icy Touch -> Plague Strike -> Pestilence. Now this burns all my runes within a few seconds and I have a gap of about 3-4 seconds with only enough runic power for one Death Coil.
Am I doing something wrong or is this normal to any Blood-Tank DK? I'm a bit concerned about not being able to use any selfhealing ability for such a long time but on the other side I also want to have nice little gap between my threat and the rest of the party members.

Petninja
10-25-2009, 01:18 AM
I'm no master of Blood DKs, but it seems if you DnD -> Blood Boil -> IT -> PS -> Pest you'd get that extra threat in on everything to start and probably that blood rune you just used on Blood boil before would be up by then anyway.

I might be wrong. I've never even tried tanking as a DK.

Wilhem
10-25-2009, 02:32 PM
That's normal for any DK. Don't worry about self healing for that amount of time, if a healer can't keep you up for 3 seconds then you need to be worrying about something completely different.

The only thing you should be worrying about at that point is your DPS pulling from you by AoEing. Once your runes are off CD, pop a Blood Boil and maybe a second Blood Boil to secure your aggro.

Esch
10-25-2009, 05:07 PM