PDA

View Full Version : Blood DK Tank: Ring and Trinket choices

Magicme
10-23-2009, 11:21 PM
Hey guys,

Having recently switched from DPS to tanking I'm somewhat new to the whole tanking scene, and am having trouble choosing between a few rings / trinkets.

Currently I'm using Clutch of Fortification in one ring slot, but I can't decide between the Signified Ring of Binding (Ony 25 ring) and the Mark of the Relentless for the other slot.

Initially I thought the Signified Ring of Binding would be better, but a few of my more experienced tanking friends said to use the Mark of the Relentless. However, Rawr suggests that the ony 25 ring is quite a big upgrade. My 10man group is going to be trying ToGC soon, so I thought I better get it worked out soon.

I thought that the ony 25 ring would have higher EH than the Mark, which would make it better for tanking progression fights? I lose a bit of threat, but that shouldn't cause any problems.

My other question is specifically in turns of HP trinkets, does the proc on the Black Heart outway the constant stamina from a brewfest trinket? Initially I thought it wouldn't, but now I'm not so sure.

I know that different pieces of gear will be better for different things, but in the case of these items I figured there should be a pretty clear winner for what I'm needing to do (tank ToGC).

Thanks guys, much appreciated.

Lerius
10-23-2009, 11:49 PM
Well for your question about the rings, the best choice for any tank would be Mark of the Relentless. It gives you a lot more bread and butter stats that most tanks need. It also gives you a socket for flexibility which makes it much superior. The only time I would recommend the Signified Ring of Binding would be if your struggling with defense cap. Other than that, Mark of the Relentless greatly outweighs the stats of the ring from onyxia.